Skip to Content

Faculty of Science

Australasian Information Security Conference (AISC) 2012

Call for Papers

AISC promotes research on all aspects of security for computerised systems, with the goal of increasing communication between security researchers and practitioners. It is a one-day conference within the Australasian Computer Science Week, at RMIT University from January 30 to February 3, 2012. We seek submissions from academic and industrial researchers on any theoretical or practical topic in information, computer, or system security.  Suggested topics include, but are not restricted to, the following.

  • Access control
  • Anonymity and pseudonymity
  • Cryptography and cryptographic protocols
  • Database security
  • Identity management and identity theft
  • Information hiding and steganography
  • Intrusion detection and prevention
  • Malicious software
  • Network security
  • Privacy enhancing technologies
  • Trust and risk

 Key Dates

  • Submission of papers: August 15, 2011 August 29, 2011
  • Notification of authors:  October 09, 2011
  • Final version:  November 06, 2011 

Instructions for Authors

Authors are invited to submit original papers: they must not substantially duplicate work that any of the authors have published elsewhere or have submitted in parallel to any other conferences that have proceedings.  The submission must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgements, or obvious references. Original contributions are invited up to 12 pages in length (single column) excluding appendices and bibliography and  up to 20 pages in total.

There will be an award for the best student paper. A paper categorized as a ``student paper'' should be marked with ``Student Paper'' at the top of the anonymous submission. The definition of a ``student paper'' is a paper where at least 75% of the work is done by the student (and usually, the student's name appears as the first author).

Papers will be judged on originality, significance, correctness and clarity.  The contribution of the paper should be clearly explained in both general and technical terms.  Submission of a paper includes a commitment that, should the paper be accepted, at least one author will attend the workshop to present the work.

Papers must be submitted electronically and be received by the submission deadline.  Late submissions and non-electronic submissions will not be considered.


Publication Proceedings will be published in revised form through the Australian Computer Society (ACS) in its Conferences in Research and Practice in Information Technology (CRPIT) series.
At least one author must register for the workshop to ensure publication of the paper. Each paper must be presented by the respective author.  

Program Co-Chairs

  • Josef Pieprzyk, Macquarie University, Australia
  • Clark Thomborson,The University of Auckland, New Zealand

Program Committee

  • Joonsang Baek, Inst. for Infocomm Research
  • Ljiljana Brankovic, University of Newcastle
  • Raymond Choo, University of South Australia and Australian National University
  • Kathy Horadam, RMIT
  • Ray Hunt, University of Canterbury
  • Paul Montague, DSTO
  • Yi Mu, University of Wollongong
  • Jason Reid, Qld University of Technology
  • Jill Slay, University of South Australia
  • Ron Steinfeld, Macquarie University
  • Willy Susilo, University of Wollongong
  • Huaxiong Wang, Nanyang Technology University
  • Ian Welch, Victoria University of Wellington
  • Duncan S. Wong, City University of Hong Kong
  • Yang Xiang, Deakin University
  • Xun Yi, Victoria University, Australia